2018 Design Excellence Award Winners

The IIDA Oregon Chapter Design Excellence Awards are an important platform which highlight the exceptional interior design work that is occurring in the Pacific Northwest.

Thank you to all of the designers who submitted inspiring projects and to those whom attended the sold-out Awards ceremony on October 11, 2018.

This was the fifth year of online voting for the People’s Choice Award, and we are pleased to share that over 1,207 votes were cast from locations spanning the entire globe. The winning project (find out more below), received 183 votes! We are thrilled to see local interior design work being shared nationally, thank you for your help spreading the word.

Don’t forget to save the date for the IIDA Oregon Chapter Design Crawl on April 18, 2019, where three of the Award-winning spaces will be selected for a guided tour.

Please join us the IIDA Oregon Chapter in congratulating the designers and project teams of all of the award winning submissions!

View the 2018 Design Excellence Award Winners gallery here.

Residential – Best in Category:

Ankrom Moisan Architects
Urban Visions, West Edge Tower
Project Team: Leah Wheary, Casey Scalf, Gina Leone, Rachel Osborne, Kiley LaRue, Katie Lyslo, Heather Hayes, Erin Ellsworth


Residential – Honorable Mention:

SERA Architects
Mill Creek Residential Trust / Modera Pearl
Project Team: Kurt Schultz, David Stephenson, Marc Abadie, Travis Dang, Steve Rainey, Lacey Bartels, Alison Bane, Kelley Edwards, Brian Cobb, Russ Pitkin, Mitra Dunn


Senior Housing – Honorable Mention:

Ankrom Moisan Architects
Aegis Senior Living Communities, Aegis Newcastle
Project Team: Alissa Brandt, Cindy Schaumberg, Kate Dougherty


Corporate – Best in Category:

ZGF Architects LLP.
Expensify Portland Office
Project Team: Alan Gerencer, Franco Rosete, Gabriella Caldwell, Jan Willemse, Kirsten Justice, Jeanne Jameson, Chardonnay Cintron


Corporate – Honorable Mention:

Hacker Architects
Simple HQ (Phase II)
Project Team: Jennifer Fowler (Lead Designer), Maddy Mackin Freeman (Interior Designer), Thomas Schmidt (Project Architect), Caitlin Vanhauer (Design Team), Alex Zelaya (Design Team), Robyn Wrobleski (Design Team)


Public and Civic – Honorable Mention:

Guggenheim Architecture + Design Studio
Beaverton Christian Church / Community Spaces
Project Team: Jenny Guggenheim, Jeff Guggenheim, Reid Leslie, Hannah Moore, Colin Stacey, Jules Hartzell


Maker – Honorable Mention:

800 Fifth Ave., Hines 24
Project Team: Rori Homme and Dirk Wallace


Education – Best in Category:

Opsis Architecture
University of Oregon Straub Hall Renovation and Classroom Addition
Project Team: Christopher Roberts (Project Manager), Jim Kalvelage (Principal-in-Charge), Jeri Tess (Lead Interior), Max Frixione, Lucas Gray, Joe Baldwin, Sam Leoung


Education – Honorable Mention:

SRG Partnership & Behnisch Architekten
Portland State University Karl Miller Center
Project Team: Sam Stadler, AIA; Emily Wright, Assoc. IIDA; Kent Duffy, FAIA; Jim Wilson, AIA; Mark Kogut, AIA; David McCarthy, AIA; Stefan Behnisch, FAIA; Matt Noblett, AIA; Michael Kocher, AIA; Jon Wiener, AIA; Louise Foster, AIA; Nita Posada; Rebecca Bompiani


Hospitality – Best in Category:

Fieldwork Design and Architecture
rianne Day, Day Wines
Project Team: Cornell Anderson, AIA, Partner/Architect; Tim Fouch, AIA, Partner/Architect; Tonia Hein, Partner/Interior Designer; Mariam Mollaghaffari, Designer


Hospitality – Honorable Mention:

Open Studio Collective
Freeland Spirits, Tasting Room
Project Team: Allison Bryan, Georgia Barnett, Dylan Woock, Karina Salgado, Laurel Kadas, Caitlin Ellis


Impact Award:

Upswell x Open Studio Collective
Labventure @ Gulf of Maine Research Institute
Project Team: User Experience by Upswell: Armando Manalo, Kieran Lynn, Erica Hassinger; Environmental Design by Open Studio Collective: Allison Bryan, Dylan Woock


Juror’s Choice:

ZGF Architects LLP.
Expensify Portland Office
Project Team: Alan Gerencer, Franco Rosete, Gabriella Caldwell, Jan Willemse, Kirsten Justice, Jeanne Jameson, Chardonnay Cintron


People’s Choice:

LRS Architects
Project Team: Darcie McConnaha, Project Manager; Michelle Startt, Principal-in-Charge; Britney Hale, Interior Designer